Author Topic: "Hitler's Panzers East: World War II Reinterpreted" Possible Story Timeline  (Read 16193 times)

Offline Logan Hartke

• High priest in the black arts of profiling...
  • Rivet-counting whiffer
Re: "Hitler's Panzers East: World War II Reinterpreted" Possible Story Timeline
« Reply #25 on: December 04, 2013, 10:49:31 AM »
I'll do what I can, but I'm no expert.  I don't know if anyone knows the answer to some of your questions with certainty.

What was the field performance of a Ju-87 with a 2200lber?
From what I've read, even with excessively heavy bomb loads takeoff performance of the Stuka was surprisingly good.  The only thing negative that I've EVER read about the Stuka's field performance was that the spats sometimes got in the way in muddy conditions.

Rough field or prepared strip?
I don't know.  I would assume semi-prepared.  That's what most fields were at the time, especially for the Stuka.

What was it's range with said weapon?
Depends on the variant, but the Stuka's range was never too impressive.  That's one reason it always operated so close to the front lines.  The Ju 87R and D were better, though.

What was it's kinetic performance compared with oh say a P-40C/E, Spitfire V, Hurricane II or Fulmar (any of which it could be expected to encounter)?
What do you mean "kinetic performance"?  The Stuka was vulnerable to any enemy fighters under any circumstances.  I'd get worried for a Stuka if there were enemy Bristol Bulldogs over the target area.  In the right hands, it was still very much dangerous in its own right, but the Stuka was quite vulnerable to enemy fighters.  That having been said, Stukas successfully penetrated British fighter cover and anti-aircraft fire to attack the HMS Illustrious in Malta's Grand Harbour.

Could Marat match a Royal Sovereign with say 2 C class cruisers, a Leander and assorted destroyers in terms of AA firepower? I'll leave the Didos at home.