Author Topic: Meng 1/35 Toyota Hilux Pickups  (Read 5859 times)

Offline Ramba

• Newly Joined - Welcome me!
Meng 1/35 Toyota Hilux Pickups
« on: July 22, 2020, 09:23:01 PM »
Here are two Meng 1/35 Toyota Hilux Pickups I started way back in August of 2018. They stalled because I started painting the black door strips and the paint ran all over the doors on the red one. I had masked the areas off but the paint ran under the tape. I got frustrated and packed them away. I finally picked them back up last weekend.

I have the Black Dog accessory set and cut it in two parts to use in both pickups. I used a fine razor saw to cut through the resin accessory set. The bed extension part will go in one with the tail gate open and the packs will go in the other one with the tail gate closed.

I scratch built the brush guards from plastic card and rod. I also scratch built the SATCOM antennas. The Meng kit came with PE mud flaps but I kept knocking them loose so I scratch built the mud flaps from plastic card. They stick better plastic to plastic. One of the brush guards was lopsided but I sort of fixed it before attaching to the pickup.

I added a few accessories to the interiors but didn't weather the interiors as you won't see much at all once the bodies are in place.

Here is where I am at for now. Still a lot more to go especially the weathering. The chassis and tires are heavily weathered on the red one. The chassis and tires are lightly weathered on the blue one. I need to make masks for all the windows before I weather the bodies. The red one will be heavily weathered to cover up the areas where the paint ran on the doors.

Offline LemonJello

• MARPAT Master
  • Member number 100...WooHoo!!!
Re: Meng 1/35 Toyota Hilux Pickups
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2020, 09:56:57 PM »
Looking good. 

Offline Frank3k

• Excession
  • Global Moderator
  • Formerly Frank2056. New upgrade!
    • My new webpage
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2020, 11:55:09 PM »