Author Topic: Confederate States Air Force Mirage F-1  (Read 17299 times)

Texgunner

Confederate States Air Force Mirage F-1
« on: May 11, 2012, 06:51:51 AM »
Hello everyone!  I am a brand new member here and I want to contribute my first post to this very cool site.  I usually try to achieve historical accuracy with my builds (mostly 1/48 aircraft) but sometimes I enjoy following my vivid imagination.  I am a school teacher with a History BA and my love of history has certainly helped with "what if" models.  Please allow me to present my Mirage and the scenario behind it.

What if?  What if the Confederate States of America had survived the American Civil War?  What if the CSA had survived right up into the present?  Well, that's the premise behind this aircraft.  I created a scenario in which today's CSA co-exists with the USA here in the 21st Century.  I envisioned CSAF squadrons that were named for Confederate war heroes.  I imagined four Maritime Air Stations; Norfolk, Charleston, Tampa and Biloxi, Miss.  These squadrons are named after famous cavalry commanders of the Civil War.  This CSAF Mirage F-1 is assigned to the Nathan B. Forrest Squadron based at Biloxi.  Their primary mission is anti-ship interdiction.  My "what if" Confederacy requires imported aircraft due to an aircraft industry that still hasn't reached maturity, nor any sort of parity with their neighbor, the United States.  In these pictures, we see a CSAF Mirage F-1 at a small airfield in the Republic of Texas (yes, there's a "what if" story there too, lol.  At some point in the future we may see a Republic of Texas Vampire, or maybe a Gloster Gladiator from the late '30s), making an unscheduled lay-over for some unspecified reason.