Author Topic: Airfix 1/72 Spitfire  (Read 6245 times)

Offline Madhatter

• BTS's Tony Stark
  • trainee plastic surgeon
Airfix 1/72 Spitfire
« on: February 09, 2015, 02:02:27 PM »
HI guys

This was given to me by my sister at Christmas. I've never built a Spitfire before - despite having the Tamiya 1/32 in the que, so it'll be considered practice for the big one :) I quite enjoyed it but the lack of detail is quite telling. I'm not complaining though - it still looks like a Spitfire to me

It's completely out of the box, so if there are any shape issues or what have you - it's not my fault :)

Painted using Tamiya acrylics and weathered using  MIG pigments and the Tamiya weathering sets

Painted using Tamiya acrylics and weathered using  MIG pigments and the Tamiya weathering sets

I couldn't resist a size comparison to an A400 of equal scale

As you can see, I had trouble settling down the right side wing decal, but I am about to drop some more decal softener onto it to see if that makes a difference

Now, I know that isn't a WIF, but wait to you see what I have in mind for my one-day-upcoming 1/48 ME109 and P-51! I think you guys will really like it - provided I do a good job on them...
Thanks for looking
MH
2 Reasons why a model is better than a wife:
1) A model doesn't get jealous when you look at another model
2) A model doesn't yell at you for spending money on another model

Offline FAAMAN

• 'bin building for years ....... and it feels it!
  • Always thought of himself as a 'straight' modeller
Re: Airfix 1/72 Spitfire
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2015, 03:45:43 PM »
If that's the Airfix 02046-2 Mk.Vb kit, it's from 1975, hence the "lack of detail", it's still a good kit as you've just found out 8) Nicely produced build, well done!! :D :D