Author Topic: Australian Federation occurs in 1851 instead of 1901  (Read 5913 times)

Offline Volkodav

• Counts rivits with his abacus...
  • Much older now...but procrastinating about it
Australian Federation occurs in 1851 instead of 1901
« on: July 14, 2013, 09:52:29 PM »
This is one I came up with years ago while reading a book about battleships going back to the early ironclads at about the time I studied Australian History at school, and had come across mention that Federation initially got underway prior to 1850 but was delayed in part due to the gold rush(s).  I started developing wish lists of ships serving with Australia the idea being that there would eventually be three squadrons east, west and north with a fourth expeditionary squadron eventually being formed.  Unrealistic, yes but I did mention I was at school at the time so therefore young and stupid. 

Anyway, years later and all grown up I am revisiting it along the lines of how would the nation a whole have progressed had federation occurred 50 years earlier.  My thinking is instead of parting Victoria and Tasmania off from New South Wales the British Government decided to roll the Swan River Colony into NSW to create a larger, self governing colonial entity in the 1840s.  This entity would be responsible for its own defence, with the assistance of the UK but would remain an integral part of the British Empire as it went on to become a Federated Commonwealth State in 1851.