Author Topic: TTomcat's Tomcats  (Read 22496 times)

Offline taiidantomcat

• Plastic Origamist...and not too shabby with the painting either!
  • Stylishly late...because he was reading comics
TTomcat's Tomcats
« on: May 11, 2014, 12:14:25 AM »
I'm not the first guy to tackle the many 1/48 Tomcats. Darren Roberts put together a handy guide (he even gave them grades!! You can tell he is a teacher :)

http://www.aircraftresourcecenter.com/Gal10/9301-9400/gal9392-F-14-Roberts/00.shtm

And Paul did a comparison build as well, you can find it here.

http://www.arcforums.com/forums/air/index.php?showtopic=142212&st=0&p=1276367&hl=tomcat%20project&fromsearch=1&#entry1276367

I have all the 1/48 scale Tomcats (except for the Academy, and new hobbyboss but that can be resolved later) And decided it was time to build them all, If only just to say I did it! So I had to come up with a plan first, how did I want to do this? I am a what-if/sci fi builder primarily, I tend to do models that take a long time and I can't remember the last time I finished an OOB build. Since Darren and Paul covered the comparisons, I really just want this to be a big series of in-progress builds, its not really about A vs B Vs C (they did a great job of that already). So I decided on a set of rules after my gray matter burned out.

^ It should be generally OOB. For speed purposes. trying to fix some of these kits would take way more time than they are worth!

^ The outer lines of the model should be preserved. so no adding new tail fins or anything. If the shadow was projected on a wall it would clearly be a good old fashioned Tomcat. Nothing different about the shape, silhouette will be consistent.

^ "5 minute fixes" are allowed. What is a 5 minute fix? Adding tape seatbelts or shaving down a landing gear tire to make it flat are excellent additions that are not major conversion work like rescribing lines, adding resin, or wiring. (If you can do that in five minutes however-- I salute you)