Author Topic: Wacom, stylus, & touch tablets  (Read 4419 times)

Offline Logan Hartke

• High priest in the black arts of profiling...
  • Rivet-counting whiffer
Wacom, stylus, & touch tablets
« on: November 27, 2012, 04:04:45 AM »
So, I've been thinking about getting a Wacom or touch tablet of some sort recently, but I'm totally new to the field and I know it's really changing right now.  Does anyone have any recommendations?  Should I get a Wacom or try to go with something that has an integrated screen?  Do any of the new tablets double pretty well as touch peripherals? 

Thanks,

Logan

Offline GTX_Admin

• Evil Administrator bent on taking over the Universe!
  • Administrator - Yep, I'm the one to blame for this place.
  • Whiffing Demi-God!
    • Beyond the Sprues
Re: Wacom, stylus, & touch tablets
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 06:02:45 PM »
Wish I could help advise but unfortunately I can't.
All hail the God of Frustration!!!

You can't outrun Death forever.
But you can make the Bastard work for it.

Offline RussC

• Our own personal dragon trainer...with a flying wing fetish
  • Resident Painter
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 08:41:12 PM »
Wacom makes an integrated screen model (cintiq) as well as the older types.

I use their Intuos design. I find no problem using one with the monitor separate for art, so getting the new cintiq with its own screen is not a big priority. The use of one as a touch peripheral is pretty limited right now. I have used mine as a mouse on occasion and its a bit slow when doing that.

Bamboo is smallest model if you want to try something really basic.

Offline Doom!

• Slayer of pixels and plastic!
  • Glad to be here!
    • Doom Island 2
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 11:56:29 PM »