Author Topic: Ryan PT-20  (Read 1163 times)

Offline Robomog

• ...had a very bad experience with [an] orange...
  • Would you buy a used kit from this man?
Ryan PT-20
« on: October 16, 2022, 11:14:39 AM »
Hi all

Decided to build this as I have got myself into a bit of a rut and needed a challenge.

I have also recently purchased some elasticated rigging wire to try out and thought this would be an ideal test aircraft.

Sorry no constructional pics as i have been doing this on and off for about four months.

This is an old High Planes Models limited run kit (400 max I think) and I probably had around the 360th as there was a lot of flash and deformation at the edges. Nonetheless less after a  good clean up it went together pretty well with only  the wing fuselage joint requiring filler.

The instructions warn you about this in a somewhat direct way.

It made me chuckle.

The decals are a bit thick and fragile. They did not take a lot of manhandling, however copius amount of Microsol got them to lay down.

The rigging wire is very fine in 1/72 scale and just on the edge of my vision with a  x1.5 magnifier on my glasses which made it very fiddley to install.

One UTube video bill's this as the easy way to rig a model but I found it every bit as challenging as stretched sprue, to be fair to the man he was working in 1/48th scale with a thicker guage wire so i can forgive him a littl bit.

Was it worth it ?       

Absolutely yes the rigging  looks finer and more in scale and because it has some "give" you are less likely to break it whilst handling the model.

Anyway here's the completed kit. .....

All comments or criticisms gratefully accepted , as always

Mog
>^-.-^<
Mostly Harmless...............

Offline Old Wombat

• "We'll see when I've finished whether I'm showing off or simply embarrassing myself."
  • "Define 'interesting'?"
Re: Ryan PT-20
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2022, 03:17:52 PM »